About Thor’s hammer

That’s right. ‘A female view on Vanatru’ starts with the topic of a male Aesir God – because here’s the thing. I like men, I adore them and feel they have a lot to bring to this world. I want to make clear that I am supporting equal rights for all genders but also want them to live out all the unique details they carry.

That being said, I think Thor is Vanic, anyway. He is riding a wagon, is called a God of fertility and weather and his hammer is a tool for sanctifying marriages. It was laid onto the lap of the woman to guarantuee many offspring, and wearing Mjöllnir as jewelry was popular among women. (And still is – I am wearing it right now. 😉 )

thors-hammer

Also, he is said to be married to the Goddess of corn and harvest, Sif. Sif’s name means ‘bride, family’ so it might be a title. She has long golden hair and can take the form of a swan – all of which links her to the Great Lady Freia. Personally, I think she is Freia.

I have so much to say about Thor, Sif, Freia, Loki (yes, that’s right, him too), Ingvi and all the other Gods! I have this blog now and I just can’t wait to spread my wild theories. 😀

Oh, and happy first Advent – only four weeks and a few days now until the Sun get’s reborn. I am taking up my Yule decorations today. And yes, I stick to the ‘Advent stuff’ because I borrow shamelessly from Christianity (hey, they have it coming) and other religions, whatever floats my boat. I warned you.

Hope to see you soon!

2 thoughts on “About Thor’s hammer

Leave a Reply

